Europe’s 2020 Health Care Climate Champions

This year, nine European healthcare institutions have won a Health Care Climate Challenge Award. Hospitals and health centres from all over the world participated in the 2020 Health Care Climate Challenge Awards in the categories of Leadership, Mitigation, and Resilience, with over 40 winners from 17 countries on six continents. 

In Europe, Health Care Climate Champions from Iceland, the UK, France, Germany, Spain and Greece joined winners from Costa Rica, Taiwan, Morocco, and other countries across the globe. These hospitals, health systems, and organisations are at the forefront of the transformation to climate-smart healthcare. Their commitments, investments, and innovations are inspiring and guiding the sector worldwide. 

2020 marks an important year as it is the fifth anniversary of both the Health Care Climate Challenge and the signing of the Paris Agreement. Over the course of these five years, more than 300 institutions representing the interests of over 22,000 hospitals and health centers from 36 countries have joined the Health Care Climate Challenge and pledged their commitment to address climate change.

The 2020 Climate Champions, and all participants in the Climate Challenge, are a shining example of how the healthcare sector is stepping up to do its part to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement and foster a healthy future for people and the planet.

With the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020 was an unprecedented and difficult year for the entire world and in particular the healthcare sector. Hospitals and healthcare professionals were called to serve on the front lines to treat and care for the sick and protect their communities. They are heroes and champions of 2020. We send them our utmost thanks, respect, and appreciation for all that they have done and will continue to do.

2020 European Health Care Climate Champions

Centre Hospitalier de Niort (France)

  • Gold – Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Energy)

Evangelisches Krankenhaus Hubertus (Germany)

  • Silver – Climate Leadership

Fachklinik Gaissach (Germany)

  • Gold – Climate Leadership

Galician Health Service (Spain)

  • Gold – Climate Resilience
  • Gold – Climate Leadership

Greater Manchester Health and Social Care Partnership (United Kingdom)

  • Silver – Climate Resilience
  • Silver – Climate Leadership

Landspítali (Iceland)

  • Gold – Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Energy)
  • Gold – Renewable Energy
  • Silver – Climate Leadership

Manchester University NHS Trust (United Kingdom)

  • Silver – Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Energy)
  • Silver – Climate Leadership

Regional General Hospital of Syros (Greece)

  • Silver- Climate Resilience

Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust (United Kingdom)

  • Gold – Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Energy)

Meet the other 2020 Climate Champions around the world